Screen Privacy is an option to secure or conceal the content of a session by disabling the monitor.
The screen privacy feature is available for Windows 8/10, macOS and Linux.
In a Nutshell
Privacy mode during a session disables the monitor on the remote side.
The screen contents are hidden for anyone with physical access to the remote device.
Input from the remote side is also blocked during privacy mode until either the session ends or privacy is disabled.
Privacy Mode hides the screen contents and blocks user input at the remote machine.
It only disables the remote display(s), and doesn’t hide any data or actions.
Once activated Screen Privacy is stored per ID and is persistent across sessions.
A request to enter Privacy Mode, requested explicitly (from the menu) or automatically.
May be rejected at the backend for various reasons:
- The backend client does not allow using Privacy Mode
- The backend client does not support Privacy Mode (Windows 7 or outdated client version).
- The backend client is not able to enter Privacy Mode due to missing privileges required by the operating system.
- The backend client is not able to enter Privacy Mode due to missing hardware support.
- The backend client has the same ID as the frontend client.
In case multiple users are connected to the same client and at least two of them request Privacy Mode:
- Privacy Mode is entered on first request (if possible),
- Privacy Mode should be left either in case
- a. the last user that requested Privacy Mode requested to leave it.
- b. the last user that requested Privacy Mode closed the corresponding session.
Under certain circumstances, Privacy Mode may not work (or stops working) due to OS security architecture.
Thus, either input may not be blocked, or the screen contents are not hidden, or both:
- During UAC dialog
- After sending Ctrl+Alt+Del
- After logout
- During user switch
- After the desktop has been locked
On Windows 8 and 10 Privacy Mode will be left in case the frontend user switches to a monitor with rotated screen.
It is restored, when switching to a non-rotated monitor (even the contents of the rotated screen are hidden).